Congratulations to our Liveryman the Prime Minister

Congratulations to our new Prime Minister the Rt Hon Theresa May MP, PC, who has been a member of the Marketors for the past 17 years. She joined as a Freeman in 1999, gaining the Freedom of the City of London, and becoming a Liveryman of the Company in 2001. At the time she was Conservative MP for Maidenhead, a post she still holds.

Other Prime Ministers who have been Honorary Liverymen of City livery companies include, William Gladstone, Sir Winston Churchill, Stanley Baldwin, and Harold Macmillan.

The Worshipful Company of Marketors is the City Livery Company for senior marketing professionals and Mrs May’s business background in the City working at the Bank of England and the Association for Payment Clearing services, before taking up full-time politics, qualified her for membership of the Company.

Prime Minister the Rt Hon Theresa May MP, PC and Past Master The Reverend Sally Muggeridge

“We are delighted that our liveryman , Theresa May , has achieved the high office of Prime Minister and we send her our heartiest congratulations” says David Pearson, Master of the Marketors Company. “She has always been a great supporter of the Company and made time from her busy schedule as Home Secretary to be the speaker at one of our formal dinners in the City in 2013.”

City of London Livery companies date back to the 14th century. The Marketors is one of the modern livery companies of the City of London, ranked 90th in order of precedence of the current 110 livery companies, The Marketors was established as a Guild in 1975 and become a City Livery Company in 1977. Its membership is drawn from senior marketing professionals, marketing services experts and marketing academics and numbers over 370.

The Marketors is one of the most active liveries for social and business events, offering its members a wide variety of networking occasions and opportunities to give back to the community. The livery supports the city of London and its mayoralty, and was awarded a Royal Charter in 2010.

Image: Prime Minister the Rt Hon Theresa May MP, PC and Past Master The Reverend Sally Muggeridge

Share this post